Reflecting back and moving foward

Reflecting back on my very first blog post, and the three main skills i wished to gain from this program, I can kindly express that this program helped me. I wanted to first get my networking skills down, which came out perfectly, those that I have volunteered for has offered to write me letter of recommendations and also suggested my work to others. I then i hoped to gain more professionalism. I think i met my expectations but I can always work on myself, by having a better spirit on days I’m down. Which goes into how I wanted to open up to other around me. No one has to know there’s something wrong with me, but if a person sense there is and ask, instead of being stubborn I wanted to be able to talk more about my feelings. I feel like I’ve done a good job at that because I’ve actually grew a friendship and bond with one of my peers.

A experience I’ll never forget about my site would be when my whole group came together first semester and helped volunteer at the food pantry. To see everyone come together and just have a passion to serve others is something I’ve always had a dream for. Helping my community, NIU is my community. My group were all professional and were willing to help with what ever task was given. It showed me the true meaning o volunteering. After that moment I knew I was a part of the right organization, and that day forward I made it my priority to volunteer when ever my time was available.

To wrap things up, since our Community Engagement showcase is coming up, me and my group plan to address the food insecurities on our campus. We will have a poster showing and describing to the people what it was we did the entire year, and what it is we hope to keep going the further years. Because we lost our teems peer mentor, we had a little set back and really had to rethink of what it was we were doing. Once we finalized that we are all on the right track hoping our showcase exceeds the expectations.

Leave a comment